Outstanding Educator Award

2016 Outstanding Educator Recognized

Fire TruckJennifer Neuenschwander, a teacher at Parkside Elementary School, was presented with the Outstanding Educator Award at the recent Monroe School District Scholarship and Awards Program. The award is sponsored by the Monroe Excellence in Education Fund and includes a $500 stipend to be used for professional development or classroom teaching materials. The Foundation presents the award annually, through funds provided by the Class of 1977, in an effort to recognize outstanding achievements and performance of teachers in the Monroe School District.

The Outstanding Educator Award is presented to an individual teacher or team of teachers in the Monroe School District who exemplify the highest standards and practices of the teaching profession. These qualities include demonstrating distinguished performance in the classroom, professionalism, leadership, collegiality, innovation, creativity, and a commitment to students and their learning.

Miss JenniferJennifer Neuenschwander has taught in the School District of Monroe for 23 years. She has established high expectations for both herself and her students. She was nominated by her district colleagues who mentioned her passion for students and enthusiasm for learning. She is an exemplar role model for staff across the District. She is respected by co-workers and admired and loved by students. Her sense of humor and love for her students comes through on a daily basis. Jennifer is not only an excellent teacher but a caring, enthusiastic, and positive staff member. Those that work closely with her report she is absolutely amazing! She is one of the most dynamic teachers in the District.

Jennifer has an incredibly challenging job of working with preschool-aged students and their families. She cares deeply for her students and treats them as if they were her own. The rapport that she creates with families, community and colleagues is superb!

“Jennifer Neuenschwander is an invigorating teacher and has been described as full of energy at all times, always happy and upbeat, always there to greet anyone with a smile and compliment and the best cheerleader anyone could ask for” states Cory Hirsbrunner, Superintendent for the School District of Monroe. Adults down to small children are drawn to her positive vibe. Her passion, dedication and her commitment to life-long learning and keeping a positive attitude is exceptional.

There are some educators who, because of their commitment to education and students, must be considered outstanding. Jennifer Neuenschwander is truly outstanding! She is overwhelmingly deserving of this prestigious award.” Two other well-deserved excellent educators received honorable mention honors; Heather Peterson and Rachel Showers. “The Excellence in Education Board was very fortunate to have such quality nominees to choose from,” stated Cory Hirsbrunner.

The Monroe Excellence in Education Fund, a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, provides private resources to enhance educational programs in the School District of Monroe. The Fund serves as a vehicle to encourage and increase local business, civic, and community involvement in the Monroe Public School System. Establishment in 2002, the Monroe EIE Fund has presented more than $162,000 in grants to the Monroe School District for the enhancement of educational programs. For more information or to donate to the Monroe EIE Fund, please contact Linda Gebhardt, donor services representative for the Community Foundation, (608) 328-4060, or visit the Community Foundation web site at: